Subhendu Kumar Otta. Dr


Subhendu Kumar Otta. Dr
Designation : Principal Scientist & OIC, PME Cell
Discipline : Biotechnology
Division : Aquatic Animal Health and Environment Division
Specialization : Fishery Microbiology
Research areas:
  • Disease diagnosis for fin fish and shellfish
  • Virulence mechanism of aquatic pathogens
  • Development of treatment strategy through medicine and RNAi
Brief profile:

After taking masters in Fish Production and Management in 1992, Ph.D. in Fishery Microbiology in 1997 and a post-doctoral experience in USA during 2003 to 2009, I have been working in CIBA since January 2010 on Aquatic Animal Health related aspects. I have worked on disease monitoring of L.vannamei farms and hatcheries, WSSV and host protein interaction, defense mechanism of shrimps and RNAi therapy for shrimp WSSV. I have contributed to the disease status of India with particular to EMS, genotype related virulence status of WSSV and RNAi as a prophylactic against WSSV. I have interests in determining virulence status and developing treatment strategy for WSSV.

Current Research Projects (3 important ones):
NoTitle Funded By
1 Defense genes of tiger shrimp (Penaeus monodon) with respect to bacteria (Vibrio harveyi) and white spot virus (WSSV) infectionNational Agricultural Science fund (NASF), ICAR
2Development of white spot syndrome virus free shrimp brooders for seed production: using indigenous shrimp Penaeus indicus as a modelDepartment of Biotechnology (DBT), Govt. of India
3 Molecular mechanisms of Gonad-Inhibiting Hormone action on the control of egg maturation in the penaeid shrimp, Penaeus monodonDepartment of Biotechnology (DBT), Govt. of India

Recognitions (National & international level) :

  • Invited speaker: International seminar on “Shrimp Early Mortality Syndrome (EMS)” at Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 2014 and International Symposium on “Fish Vaccinology”, Oslo, Norway, 1996
  • Young Scientist Award: DST, 1998; Association of Microbiologists of India 1999, Association of Food Scientists and Technologists of India 1999 and National Academy of Agricultural Sciences 1999
  • Pran Vohra Award: Indian Science Congress Association 2001
  • Biotechnology Felllowship: UNESCO, Paris 1999
  • University Gold Medals: B.F.Sc